A Good Faith Offering… Two Recent Projects

1

October 14, 2012 by magpiemenina

I thought I had better make a good faith offering to you, readers, because I have fallen off the face of the earth for two weeks. We have been very, very busy.

Two weekends ago, we went to Kentucky, where we’ll be moving in December, and began the process of buying a house. (Hooray! Projects!) We’re quite pleased with the house and quite excited about all of the fun things we can do with the house and the lovely, large, secluded yard (gardens! chickens! arbors! Stick around – you won’t be disappointed!).

This weekend, some of my family members came to visit from Ohio! That was also a great deal of fun. We went to Colonial Williamsburg and Arlington National Cemetery and the Mall. (I have pictures, but felt it was silly to blog about locations so well-known and so often visited.) It was lovely to see everyone and catch up. We also had dinner with my dear friend Stephanie while we were in the D.C. area at an adorable German-style biergarten restaurant called the Old Stein Inn in Mayo, MD. The restaurant had excellent food, beer, and, well, yodeling.

So anyhow, between visits and houses and other fun things, not to mention the day-to-day activities needed to keep things running, I haven’t had the time or inspiration to get on and blog. Today, though, I thought I’d share a few projects I’ve done over the past few weeks in the hopes of inspiring you!

(Apologies in advance for the poor image quality.)

Collaged Key Box 

The first project is a collaged box. I found it at my favorite local thrift store. The appeal was the chalkboard underside of the door and the dividers. I decided to make it into a key box and entryway catch-all.

Before. (Mew is assisting with the brainstorming process.)

The top was an uneven green color, so I decided to paint it grey. After, I decided it would look better collaged. I think that was a good choice because it probably would have looked like a utility box otherwise. Also, I love collaging things. Someday, I will post pictures of all the things I have collaged and you’ll all have a good laugh. Trunks, tables, boxes, tins… I intend to put up a collage tutorial in the near future, too. Well, I collaged the box on five sides, coated it with protective coating, and screwed cup hooks in the bottom to hold keys. Jaybird attached the knob for me after ascertaining that my method was probably not going to be very permanent. (Teamwork!)

Inside.

Here’s the inside. I thought about moving the shelves around because they all come out, but decided not to do so. The door also has a notch on top to hold the chalk.

 

And the second project:

Religious art of all kinds, especially devotional and participatory art, as well as intercessory objects, has a tremendous draw for me. (My mother has a nice collection of her own.) I read a book last year about milagros, the small metal ex voto charms used to make an offering in hopes of effecting or in thanks for the completion of a cure through divine intercession. I was fascinated by the thought of statues just covered with these metal offerings. I found this picture frame – at the thrift store, of course – and knew what I was going to do with it immediately, although actually it took a while to get around to completing it. I printed out the picture of Our Lady of Guadalupe, Mother of the Americas, and set it in the frame. I had acquired some milagros through Etsy and more through happenstance at an antique store (I happily happened upon them), so I pounded them into the frame using small nails. As I acquire more milagros, I am going to continue adding to the shrine. It’s a nice thing to see going in and out of the door.

New projects and tutorials coming soon!

Also, if you are in the Charlottesville, VA, area today, stop by the Love for Animals Fall Festival in Louisa at 1658 Evergreen Road. There will be crafts, games, and good family fun. Jaybird is playing at 6:15, and there will be live music all day. All proceeds go to the animal sanctuary! It’ll be a good time.

One thought on “A Good Faith Offering… Two Recent Projects

  1. […] one is another Virgin of Guadalupe shrine, the same as the milagro shrine I posted recently. It will look good with my vintage floral […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of fun new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Categories

