Vintage Travel-Themed Master Bedroom

1

November 1, 2013 by magpiemenina

Hello hello! Time for a very overdue blog post.

So I have this issue that many people have. I keep thinking I should wait to share pictures of certain rooms in our home until they are just so. Of course, that is always a work in progress. There is painting to be done. More of other people’s unwanted goods to acquire. So on and so forth. Jaybird, as you know, is in the Armed Forces to boot which means (let’s be frank) that we’ll likely move somewhere else before the walls get repainted.

However, none of these considerations have prompted me to share these rooms with you, my dear readers. What has? Country Living magazine. Why? Their latest issue has this charming framed display of reproduction vintage travel posters. So what? Well, I too have a charming framed display of reproduction vintage travel posters! And do you believe that I had them up first? I did. You can believe me or not. But herein lies the problem with my waiting attitude.

(This is all meant to be humorous, by the way, if you were wondering.)

Okay. As usual, please excuse my pictures. I was inspired by the notion of travel in the early-to-middle part of the twentieth century, particularly to wilderness cabins west of the Mississippi. Think going to stay in a cabin at a park out West in the 1950s.

Vintage-Travel Inspired Bedroom

The reproduction WPA prints over the bed were the inspiration for the room. I love WPA (Works Progress/Projects Administration) art and writing. If you aren’t familiar, the WPA was part of FDR’s New Deal program in the 1930s to provide work in a variety of fields, including the arts and writing. Incidentally – or perhaps not – I relied heavily on WPA interviews as primary sources for my MA thesis. Anyway, the style of art really appeals to me. I love the colors, the blockiness, and the so on. While in grad school, I found one of those nice art calendars printed on heavy paper that took WPA National Parks posters as its theme and cut off the images at the end of the year. You can find reproduction images online at many print and poster company websites. Country Living can help you with that, too.

Vintage-Travel Inspired Bedroom

The room came together around those posters (though work still awaits). I took Michigan and Ohio maps out of a vintage school atlas and hung them on the wall with nice clips. (I’m from Ohio, Jaybird is from Michigan, and no, we don’t watch football.)

Vintage-Travel Inspired Bedroom

Here’s a better image of the posters. Picking six of twelve was terribly difficult. Here and there are a some old cameras from my parents. My mother-in-law made the beautiful quilt for us for our wedding. The colors are just perfect and really tie the room together. The bed is from Ikea and is just the right style. If you are wondering about the white thing hanging from the top of the image, it’s an old electrical insulator. I use them as pulls on the ceiling fan.

Vintage-Travel Inspired Bedroom

Though you can’t see it, there’s a train case and a trunk with white-tailed deer painted on it under this desk for storage. The bedroom also serves as the perfect place for some of my old photo coasters, including the one of a bear in the road, taken, I think, in Yellowstone.

Vintage-Travel Inspired Bedroom

Finally, we’ve got a fishing tackle box which I lined with fabric and use to store jewelry; a green hanging shelf with vintage camping blankets; an old decorative pillow; a vintage Yellowstone Park pennant with adorable bear; and a Hudson Bay blanket I got for $10 at Goodwill.

Vintage-Travel Inspired BedroomHope you enjoyed seeing part of our home! Keep an eye out – Jaybird’s first blog entry is coming up later this week!

One thought on “Vintage Travel-Themed Master Bedroom

  1. gildedcrow says:

    This room looks great. The prints look like the ones featured in Country Living magazine!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of fun new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Categories

